Coping with Senior Stress

12696100_10208878047974214_1281640634_n

Illustration by Michelle J. Choi

I was so excited to crush my last two semesters here at Rutgers.

At the beginning of my senior year I was so excited to crush my last two semesters here at Rutgers. I would coast through my classes. I would rock a senior thesis. I would lead the Rutgers Catholic Student Association as Vice President; no problem. And on top of all of that, it would be a breeze snagging my top graduate school choices to continue my academic awesomeness for the following year.

My GPA took the hit.

But as the semester went on I realized how heavy all of my responsibilities were. “Oh I have a math quiz tomorrow, I think I can study for that in the morning…Ah I totally forgot about that assignment, I hope the prof accepts it late…Oh that application opened, maybe I can ask for letters of recommendation next week.” I kept putting it all off thinking I could get it all done–eventually. Or so I thought. Some of my classes didn’t turn out as great as I had initially imagined and my GPA took the hit. Sometimes, I dropped the ball and I didn’t get as much research done for my thesis as I needed to.

This never happens to me. I always get everything done. I’m always the person who gets his work in on time. I always get the grade I want. I realized that I had to face a hard truth: our humanity catches up with us whether we like it or not. Reality cannot constantly meet our expectations.

No, my life did not crash and burn last semester and I know there are plenty of people who have it way worse than I did in terms of stress and responsibilities but it still wasn’t an easy semester and I certainly didn’t kick butt the way I thought I would.

I know what makes me happy and what is going to make me happy in the future. I put those things first.

I have learned a few things, though, and those things are my priorities. I know what makes me happy and what is going to make me happy in the future. I put those things first. I made sure that even if I had a ton of homework and a paper due, I still made time to see my friends. As a senior, I’m running a little short on the “see you next year”s. I highly value the relationships I have made here at Rutgers. So if that means an hour or two less of sleep and maybe a half a letter grade off of my next assignment, I’ll take it. Not getting an A bothers me, yes, but a lot less than missing out on real human connections.

I also prioritize my mental health. I take the time to see an episode or two of my favorite shows every other day. I play a board game at least once a week. I relax. Sometimes I just sit and do nothing and let my mind take a break. Because then when I get back to work I do it so much more efficiently.

And about my plans for next year? Well that’s where my human connections come in. I talk to a lot of people about them: professors, my parents, friends, academic advisors and they all give me great insight into how they see me revealing the strengths and weaknesses that I don’t always acknowledge about myself. And that’s how I have ended up right where I am now.

I am happy and comfortable with who I am and where I am.

I am going to graduate in a few months and all I have to hold onto for the future are a few well placed applications with a few well chosen mentors who have written great letters of recommendation. With any luck I’ll be learning how to be a teacher next year at one of the nation’s best institutions. I am happy and comfortable with who I am and where I am. The stress certainly isn’t gone but I have lots of people around me to spend time with and relieve stress with.

Don’t let stress stop you from being you.

Leave a comment