Tales of a senior: To all Underclassmen,

To All Underclassmen,

As a senior who is graduating from Rutgers Business School this coming May with a degree in Accounting and a minor in Economics, leaving this amazing institution can only be described as a bittersweet moment. I love Rutgers, I love the community, the friends I have made, and the moments I have had. However, I am also looking forward to the future. While I look forward to starting the next chapter of my life and building my career, I frequently reflect on my accomplishments and my experiences that have brought me to where I am now.

One thing that constantly comes up is my involvement in many clubs and organizations around Rutgers University, specifically, my involvement with Residence Hall Association (RHA). I have been involved in Residence Hall Association since I was a freshman, and looking back at it now as a senior, joining RHA is easily one of the best decisions I made here at Rutgers. Not only did I meet some great people and create long last friendships, but I have also learned interpersonal skills and how to work in teams. The so-called “soft skills” of networking and interacting with peers assisted me in earning an internship this past summer and subsequent full time job offer once I get my degree. RHA was one of those clubs that for me, felt like I was doing this for more than just a few lines on my resume; I felt like I was giving back to the community while learning at the same time and also having fun.

So to all underclassmen currently in RHA who are thinking about whether or not to continue in RHA for the next year, I strongly recommend that you all continue on the path of this great learning experience. I agree, it is a bit of a time commitment, many members have reported spending more than a few hours a week for RHA related duties, however, the skills learned here will last you a lifetime and will benefit you not only here, but also in your future careers.

Best,
Kevin Castillo
Director of Finance, Executive Board

Leave a comment