Episode 2: March

College can be a lot of hard work, and all hard work deserves a good break.  Netflix and other streaming services have made it incredibly easy for one to binge movies and television programs, but the huge selection provided can sometimes make it hard to decide on something to watch.  That’s where I come in.  I won’t claim to have seen everything the film and television world has to offer, but I like to think I’ve got quite a bit under my belt.  So, I’ll be recommending some Netflix titles to you all, so you can veg out to quality media.

This month the theme is Nostalgia.  The easy way for me to approach this would be for me to just recommend older television programs that you readers may have fond memories of watching.  However, to make things interesting, I’ll also be recommending shows similar things you may have enjoyed growing up, to provide a new viewing experience while also igniting those feelings of nostalgia.

POKEMON: XY

Pokemon was created in 1995, and it swiftly became a global phenomenon.  Everyone was playing the games, and everyone was watching the cartoon.  Just as new Pokemon games have continued with releases, the cartoon has still been going strong as well.  The cartoon dropped in quality for quite some time, but Pokemon: XY, the newest season, has been excellent.  Taking place in a region based on France, a cast of new characters and Pokemon join Ash Ketchum and Pikachu on their quest for Pokemon mastery.  The best thing about this newest iteration of Pokemon is that Ash actually employs intelligence and strategy to win his battles, and shows actual growth as a trainer and as a person.  It’s a welcome change to the formula of the always enjoyable package that is the Pokemon series.

STAR WARS: THE CLONE WARS

I, personally, only got really into Star Wars after Episode VII: The Force Awakens, but after it was released, I went back and watched all the Star Wars films I missed.  However, I know I’m late to the Star Wars game, and that Star Wars: The Clone Wars was a big part of many people’s lives.  Taking place between Episode II and Episode III, the shows chronicles the life and development of Anakin Skywalker as he fights the Sith.  It provided a lot of backstory for the characters of Anakin and Obi-Wan, and served to quench the Star Wars thirst held by many after the completion of the prequel series.  Now that the sequel trilogy has begun, The Clone Was can once again keep you satiated on Star Wars until the next film is released.

YOUNG JUSTICE

Teen Titans.  Justice League Unlimited.  Superhero cartoons were a huge part of my childhood, and I know I’m not the only one who can say that.  Despite nostalgia boosting my fond memories of those programs, I’d have to say that Young Justice is the best superhero cartoon that I’ve seen.  Similar to Teen Titans, the show revolves around a team of young heroes fighting crime.  However, Young Justice benefits from connecting to the larger DC universe.  Teen Titans could never mention the bigger superheroes, but Superman, Batman, The Flash, and the rest of the Justice League play big roles in Young Justice too.  It’s like a combination of Teen Titans and Justice League Unlimited, and it’s just as great as you’d hoped it would be.

Leave a comment